The Nanny League

BOSTON FAMILY SEEKS NANNY/MANNY FOR THEIR DAUGHTER & SON W/ SPECIAL NEEDS!

Job Locations US-MA-Concord
Job ID
2022-2859
Category
Nanny

Overview

kids doing homework

 

CONCORD, MA (LOCAL CANDIDATES ONLY)- Stay-at-home mom is looking for a FULL-TIME NANNY to tag team with her in caring for their 9-year-old daughter and 10-year-old son with special needs. They would love to consider a manny! The schedule is Tuesdays from 3-8, Wednesdays from 4-8, Thursdays from 3-11pm, Fridays from 3-8pm, and Saturdays from 10 am -8pm. Sunday and Monday are OFF.  They are willing to add more hours to get to 40/week if desired by the candidate.  40 hours per week is guaranteed, but nanny may not need to work all 40 hours. This is an accurate schedule for the fall, but the schedule may shift in the summer when the kids’ schedules change. Must be flexible! They are also open to making this a seasonal position during the academic year if the nanny prefers.

They live in the heart of Concord, a 45-minute commute from Boston and 20 minutes from Cambridge. They are a two-minute walk to the commuter rail and are nearby wonderful restaurants, shops, bookstores, shops, etc.

 

The children attend two different schools with different schedules. Their daughter has a lot of afternoon and evening activities. Their son attends a school that is over an hour away by car. He usually has a ride home, but the nanny may need to pick him up on occasion and drive him home, or to his afternoon activity. When picking him up, the shift will start at 3pm. His school is in downtown Boston, so it may be convenient for a nanny living in that area. Their daughter has several afterschool/evening activities, and their son has therapies after school (mom usually takes him to therapy). Nanny will need to divide and conquer with mom to get them to and from. A family car is typically provided but nanny must also have their own reliable vehicle to use during times when dividing the driving duties with mom. MUST have a valid driver’s license and squeaky-clean driving record. They are less structured with a schedule during the weekends but would still like someone present at home to help out.

 

Their son has special needs around behavior and mood regulation. He has several diagnoses including Sensory Processing Disorder and Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder (DMDD). He's very bright, sweet, imaginative, and articulate, however, he greatly struggles with impulse control and needs supervision almost all the time. Nanny must be vigilant in providing constant supervision. Care is primarily for their son, but they also need help with their daughter from time to time (mainly driving to activities).

 

The ideal person will have experience working with non-neurotypical children and/or young adolescents (especially boys). They should be even-keeled, curious, have a good sense of humor, and appreciate quirky personalities. They need someone trained and experienced in working with children with special needs. Someone who is trained in handling restraints in case it happens. They are willing to pay for this training.  They would love someone who takes initiative to help outside of childcare when there is downtime. They have a housekeeper who helps with cleaning, meal prep and laundry, so these things would be taken care of during the days she is working. Must be able to work with little direction! Must be vaccinated for COVID and the seasonal flu.

 

They are a lovely intellectual family that loves to read. Someone who has an academic personality and appreciates the arts and reading will be a great fit! Someone who can entertain their son’s love for Greek and Norse mythology, spies, and detectives. He is highly curious and creative. He loves fiddling with things and taking things apart (but may not ask permission first!). He enjoys science, especially physics and chemistry, and loves listening to music (rock, alternative, etc..). He also likes baseball, swimming and tennis. He loves animals, including the family Bernadoodle (must love dogs!).

 

They often spend a month during the summer in Maine as a family and would love for their nanny to join! Benefits include paid sick days, holidays, and 2 weeks of paid vacation (one week at the family’s discretion and one for the nanny’s choosing). Pay is $30-40/hour depending on experience. Start date is ASAP!

Qualifications

BA/BS college degree | AA in related field of study 

CPR/First Aid Certification (renew as needed)

Ability to make a one-year commitment unless applying for a temporary position

A passion for working with children

Two+ years childcare experience

Excellent work and personal references

U.S. driver's license (this does not apply to NYC residents)

Complete Stop the Silence Training upon Membership
 
Fluent in English/Bilingual a plus

Competent swimmer

Non-smoker

Willing to go through extensive Background Check

Must be Live-Scanned and registered with Trustline if CA resident

Willingness to show proof of immunizations

No-cell phone driving signed guarantee

Must be eligible to work in the U.S.

Incentives

Paid sick days, holidays and vacation 

Number of Hours Per Week

40

Options

Sorry the Share function is not working properly at this moment. Please refresh the page and try again later.
Share on your newsfeed