The Nanny League

COLUMBUS OHIO SPECIAL NEEDS TRAVEL NANNY

Job Locations US-OH-Columbus
Job ID
2020-2018
Category
Nanny

Overview

Superheroes

COLUMBUS, OH-Parents are seeking a PART-TIME NANNY for their 15-year-old son who is diagnosed with dup15q syndrome and autism. He splits his time with his mom in Columbus and dad, who lives in Colorado and Arizona, but travels to Columbus one week per month to visit. Child is with his mother 3 weeks out of the month. During those times, hours are somewhat flexible but will mainly be afternoons and evenings Monday-Friday as well as occasional weekend days/evenings (15 hours per week). His dad visits Columbus one week per month and both dad, the child and nanny stay at his grandmother’s home. Hours when he is with his dad in Columbus are OVERNIGHTS from 4pm-7am Tuesday-Sunday. Hours are approximately 30 per week on a monthly average. He typically gets up around 6:30 (at times earlier when traveling) and goes to bed around 7:30 or 8:00PM. He goes to school during the week and gets home at 4:00PM and 2:00PM on Fridays. He does various activities on the weekends. Their son travels about 4 times per year to his dad’s house in CO and the nanny would be expected to travel during these times- typically 3 10 day trips to Colorado in the summer and 1 trip after Christmas to Colorado as well. He typically goes on vacation for spring break and in February for about one week again nanny would be expected to travel. The schedule is planned one year in advance. A private bedroom and bathroom will be provided when traveling as well as when working overnight. He flies when traveling and is accompanied by both a parent and nanny. They have a sweet, friendly large Berniedoodle—Must love dogs! Nanny must be willing to engage through play as well as assist in promoting social-communication skills and self-help skills. He uses a communication device to communicate- his receptive language skills are strong. He needs assistance with all self-help skills- feeding, bathing, toileting (he is in diapers at night and still has accidents in the evening and requires help cleaning up after bowel movements). He is energetic, sweet and loves to play/interact with others in his own special way. He loves music, books, toys, swimming, horseback riding, skiing and jumping on the trampoline. He is silly and playful as well as stubborn at times. He does have anxiety and at times (when over- tired or overwhelmed with a non-preferred activity) does get angry/frustrated. He does well with verbal redirection, talking through situations and with praise/encouragement. They seek a nanny who is thoughtful, reliable, dependable, caring, engaging, and enthusiastic. Having high energy and a playful spirit are also qualities they value in their caretaker. It is important that their nanny follows through with instructions and enjoys taking their son out and about on various activities. Special needs experience is a plus, but not required! Parents can provide proper training. It is more important for them to find a loving companion who their son enjoys being around and vice versa. They are willing to work with the individual to develop a salary and benefits that all parties consider fair. Time off can be scheduled after working more hours when child is with his dad or after travelling. They have a great long-term track record with their caretakers, as their last nanny was with them for 7 years! Start date is ASAP.

 

Qualifications

BA/BS college degree | AA in related field of study 

CPR/First Aid Certification (renew as needed)

Ability to make a one-year commitment unless applying for a temporary position

A passion for working with children

Two+ years childcare experience

Excellent work and personal references

U.S. driver's license (this does not apply to NYC residents)

Complete Stop the Silence Training upon Membership
 
Fluent in English/Bilingual a plus

Competent swimmer

Non-smoker

Willing to go through extensive Background Check

Must be Live-Scanned and registered with Trustline if CA resident

Willingness to show proof of immunizations

No-cell phone driving signed guarantee

Must be eligible to work in the U.S.

Incentives

TBD

Hourly Rate

USD $39,000.00/Yr.

Number of Hours Per Week

30 Average

Options

Sorry the Share function is not working properly at this moment. Please refresh the page and try again later.
Share on your newsfeed