The Nanny League

ATLANTA SPECIAL NEEDS NANNY

Job Locations US-GA-Atlanta
Job ID
2020-1899
Category
Nanny

Overview

kids doing homework

 

ATLANTA, GA-Wonderful family is seeking a FULL-TIME NANNY for their three kids, ages 14 (boy), 12 (girl) and 8 (boy). Position will start as TEMPORARY until the end of December 2020 and has the potential to extend long term thereafter. Primary care is for the youngest two, as the eldest only needs help with transportation to activities. Their 12-year-old daughter has cerebral palsy and requires assistance with all aspects of daily living. LOCAL CANDIDATES ONLY. Hours when the kids are not in school are from 8am-6pm M-F and from 7:30-9 and 1-6:30pm (split shift) M-F during school. Guaranteed pay for 40 hours/week. Because the weekly schedule during the school year would only amount to 35 hours/week, they'd like to have some flexibility to also go out on the evenings or the weekends at times, but it is generally not required. All three children go to different schools. Their 12-year-old daughter attends school from 9am-1pm for most of the year (short summer break), despite COVID-19 as she is in a 1:1 classroom.  Morning duties consist of getting her up, ready and off to school while mom and dad drop off the boys. The boys need to be picked up between 2:30-3pm and taken to after-school activities and/or do homework until parents get home. Their eldest is independent and really only needs help with transportation. He is otherwise self-sufficient. Their 12-year-old girl is very sweet. She is non-verbal but very expressive. She understands everything that is going on around her and is generally very happy. She goes with the flow and is happy to tag along with the boys when they have sporting events, and she also likes to run errands. They are in the process of getting a wheelchair lift for her. Must be able to lift 58 lbs. Their youngest is sweet and sensitive. He likes to help with his sister. He knows what shows she likes and if she is fussing, he likes to help entertain her. The ideal candidate is reliable, punctual, and trustworthy. Must have a positive outlook and be fun and engaging with the 8-year-old as well. Because their daughter is non-verbal, it is absolutely critical that they have full trust in her caregiver. They are looking for someone who is patient, fun, and energetic. While their daughter needs the most physical assistance, their youngest son also wants someone who will play with him. A huge PLUS if you have experience working with children with special needs.  They have a Golden Retriever (must love dogs). Benefits include paid sick days, holidays and vacation. Pay is $25/hour.  Start date is mid-August.

Responsibilities

Taking kids to and from school and activities, running errands, cooking for the kids, keeping the home neat and tidy 

Qualifications

BA/BS college degree | AA in related field of study 

CPR/First Aid Certification (renew as needed)

Ability to make a one-year commitment unless applying for a temporary position

A passion for working with children

Two+ years childcare experience

Excellent work and personal references

U.S. driver's license (this does not apply to NYC residents)

Complete Stop the Silence Training upon Membership
 
Fluent in English/Bilingual a plus

Competent swimmer

Non-smoker

Willing to go through extensive Background Check

Must be Live-Scanned and registered with Trustline if CA resident

Willingness to show proof of immunizations

No-cell phone driving signed guarantee

Must be eligible to work in the U.S.

Incentives

Paid holidays and vacation 

Targeted Annual Gross Salary (Max)

USD $25.00/Hr.

Number of Hours Per Week

35-40

Options

Sorry the Share function is not working properly at this moment. Please refresh the page and try again later.
Share on your newsfeed